Glyco XXII

GLYCO22 Logo

Continuing the tradition of the recent landmark meetings held in Florence, Cairns, Puerto Rico, and Vienna, the GLYCO XXII has focused on the progress and key future challenges of glycoscience. The 22nd International Glycoconjugate Symposium (GLYCO XXII), gathering all persons interested in any field of Glycoconjugates and Glycobiology was held in Dalian, China, June 23-28, 2013.

The theme of this symposium was: Progress, Challenges and Solutions.

Glyco XXI

In August 2011 Vienna welcomed 526 participants from 35 countries at Glyco21, the “21st International symposium on glycoconjugates”.

Including the IGO award lecture, delivered by the Awardee, Jeffrey ESKO, 14 plenary lectures were presented. The Scientific Program Committee organized 24 sessions and 8 workshops (the latter supported by the Euroglycoscience Forum). The “Young Glycobiologists´ Symposium” was a new element to the biannual conference series. 270 posters were displayed throughout our symposium.

A specific highlight was the presentation of the Austrian Cross of Honour for Science and Arts 1st Class to Harry SCHACHTER to honor his achievements in the field of glycobiology and for the development of glycobiological research in Austria.

Very sadly, we had to pay tributes to four giants in our field, who had passed away since Glyco 20: Jean MONTREUIL, Nathan SHARON, Saul ROSEMAN, and Christian RAETZ.

Despite the heat wave that struck Vienna during this week, the spirit of the participants was high: it couldn't have been better.

Complete list of the Glyco meetings

A complete list of all Glyco meetings held to date can be found below.

GLYCO I (1964, Swampscott, USA; late Professor Roger Jeanloz)
GLYCO II (1973, Lille, France; by late Professor Jean Montreuil)
GLYCO III (1975, Brighton, UK; Professor Colin Hughes)
GLYCO IV (1977, Woods Hole, USA; Professors John Gregory and Lennart Roden Co-chaired the meeting)
GLYCO V (1979, Kiel, West Germany; Professor Roland Schauer)
GLYCO VI (1981, Tokyo, Japan; Professor Tamio Yamakawa)
GLYCO VII (1983, Ronneby, Sweden; by late Professor Bengt Lindberg)
GLYCO VIII (1985, Houston, USA; Professor William J. Lennarz)
GLYCO IX (1987, Lille, France; by late Professor Jean Montreuil)
GLYCO X (1989, Jerusalem, Israel; by late Professor Nathan Sharon)
GLYCO XI (1991, Toronto, Canada; Professor Harry Schachter)
GLYCO XII (1993, Kraków, Poland; Professor Jerzy Koscielak)
GLYCO XIII (1995, Seattle, USA; Professor Sen-itiroh Hakomori)
GLYCO XIV (1997, Zurich, Switzerland; Professor Jürgen Roth)
GLYCO XV (1999, Tokyo, Japan; Professor Akira Kobata)
GLYCO XVI (2001, Utrecht, The Netherlands; Professor Hans Vliegenthart)
GLYCO XVII (2003, Bangalore, India; Professor Avadesha Surolia)
GLYCO XVIII (2005, Florence, Italy; Professor Guido Tettamanti)
GLYCO XIX (2007, Cairns, Australia; Professor Paul Gleeson)
GLYCO XX (2009, Puerto Rico; Professor Dipak Banerjee)
GLYCO XXI (2011, Vienna, Austia; Professor Leo März)